My Mouse

A Place for All Non-Tribal to Get together and talk with our members

Moderator: Officers

My Mouse

Postby Skel » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:46 am

I'm ready to throw this fucking thing through the window... standard optical mouse (not cordless) continually makes a USB disconnect/reconnect noise which is accompanied by a frozen mouse for anywhere from 2 seconds to whenever-i-replug-it-back-in. No warranty, obviously, or i would have chewed Gateway's ass.

Now what the hell do i do about it? It pisses me the HELL off. Doesn't matter if it's something simple like Solitaire or something complex like EQ, the mouse ALWAYS does this.

Tried reinstalling mouse software, updating drivers, and plugging it into all the USB ports i have. Even tried using the little serial bus converter thingy.

TELL ME i'm missing something simple, tell me it's not the motherboard (pretty sure it's not the mouse ... replaced it as well), and don't tell me not to buy Gateway ... hella good that does me now.

HELP
Skel
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:24 am
Location: Wisconsin

Postby Zyzzerzazz » Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:13 am

same problem here for over 6 months now...i hate it also...
Zyzzerzazz Guildkilla
Tribal Fury

"Satisfaction guaranteed or 96% of your experience back!"
User avatar
Zyzzerzazz
Member
 
Posts: 6377
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:53 am
Location: Boston

New Mouse

Postby Goofydoofy » Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:39 am

Buy a Microsoft Wireless IntelliMouse Explorer 2 mouse combo with the keyboard. I've never had one problem for over a year.
Level 105 Druid, Level 105 Enchanter, Level 105 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server
Goofydoofy
Member
 
Posts: 4788
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:15 am
Location: Bullhead City, AZ, USA

Eq usb problems

Postby Luthe » Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:44 am

I noticed serano having some of the same problems with his mouse.
I also have a standard usb microsoft mouse and dont have a problem.
Could try getting a Pci usb card that gives you extra ports. i doubt this will fix the problem , but i'm grasping at straws .
Do you have mouse problems running any other application ?
if not then you should log into eq chat and talk with a gm about the problem see if they have anything to say.
oh ya .... dont buy gateway ~ they are basically out of business. =P
Luthe
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 9:55 pm
Location: Lancaster PA

Postby Serano » Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:06 am

I plunked down a big 29.99 and got the same mouse I was already using and it fixed my mouse shut off problems. blue 2 button 1 wheel wired optical mouse. I also bought a USB hub to plug into my wifes comp to see if I could get it to talk to her roller ball thingy and my old nominally operational optical mouse on a plug in basis.
User avatar
Serano
Officer
 
Posts: 12840
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 7:40 am
Location: Victorville, Sunny So Cal.
Highscores: 144

Postby Teennin » Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:38 am

You may just want to hit Microsofts knowledgebase.

I have heard of people haveing issues with USB mice since the XP service pack 2 came out.

This is an intersting one.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;321122

Without knowing what kind of system you are running i can't really do anymore.
Image
User avatar
Teennin
The Retard Patrol
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Redford Mi

ok

Postby bill » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:23 am

well, what we do know is win 2k doesn't support USB.

I got something stupid to say that happened to my optical mouse recently.

I had to change the batteries. Don't laugh, ppl forget they run on batteries. Your symptoms do match up. I hope I could help !
User avatar
bill
Member
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:21 pm
Location: Stoneham, MA

Oh

Postby Goofydoofy » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:04 pm

I was thinking mouse and not port. Use the ps/2 port and not the USB port.
Level 105 Druid, Level 105 Enchanter, Level 105 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server
Goofydoofy
Member
 
Posts: 4788
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:15 am
Location: Bullhead City, AZ, USA

Postby Serano » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:42 pm

batteries? that would be for a wireless - a wired one runs on system power - yes?
User avatar
Serano
Officer
 
Posts: 12840
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 7:40 am
Location: Victorville, Sunny So Cal.
Highscores: 144

Postby Oakenblade » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:47 pm

Could be a number of things. Check to see if your pins are dirty, or if they're even there. Clean the lens/camera, check your mouse settings under control panel and BIOS. I'm in a computer technology class right now, asked a bunch of people, even my professor and this is what they gave me.
[url=http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=865384]Baron Oakenblade Wyldwolf
57 Preserver
RETIRED[/url]
User avatar
Oakenblade
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:42 am
Location: NE Ohio

dran

Postby Luthe » Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:29 pm

Lol, usb is supported under win2k , smoking crack again ?
only os that didnt support it was win95 a / b, but B came with software you could load to get it working.

possibly rolling back xp Sp2 might solve it but i doubt it.
you should check if your using the latest Chip set Drivers, Intel.inf
or Via 4in1 drivers .

i do this for a living ~
Luthe
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 9:55 pm
Location: Lancaster PA

hehe

Postby bill » Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:35 pm

ok luthe, hmm I meant NT, not 2k, my bad.

But since we're here, NT doesn't support USB and that was after 95.

Windows NT 4.0 does not support Universal Serial Bus (USB) host controllers. There are no plans to provide USB support in Windows NT 4.0 in a future service pack.

Shit, I totally missed the mouse having a cord...silly brain!

oh yeah, i do this for a living too~
User avatar
bill
Member
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:21 pm
Location: Stoneham, MA

huh

Postby Luthe » Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:18 pm

who is running Eq on NT ~ no one to my knowledge . eq doesnt support it.
Luthe
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 9:55 pm
Location: Lancaster PA

lol

Postby bill » Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:28 pm

nice try to save yourself luthe, but that isn't the issue.

only os that didnt support it was win95 a / b


I was merely replying to your comment since you did it for a living I figured you would want to know that ;)

not to mention EQ doesn't support 95 so why even say that?
User avatar
bill
Member
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:21 pm
Location: Stoneham, MA

win 95

Postby Luthe » Mon Jan 10, 2005 3:05 pm

Eq use to support win 95 ; )
Luthe
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 9:55 pm
Location: Lancaster PA

Next

Return to Open Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron