Page 1 of 1

Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:16 am
by Danedil
Hey everyone.

I was thinking of getting back into EQ after being away for many years. Just curious on a few things. With eq being free now would all content/expansions be free? Is it possible to restore old toons? Is it worth playing?

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:53 pm
by Ceruis
Everything up to House of Thule is free. Veils of Alaris is not free. Your old toon should still be there unless you deleted it. Is it worth playing free? I don't know, give it a go and see.

:cheers

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:55 pm
by Ceruis
Looking at your magelo your biggest problem is going to be your prestige gear (raid). Don't worry too much about that though. T1 HoT which is not prestige or even the defiant crap is better than what you have. That mudflation for you.

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:10 am
by Serano
yah I am able to buy stuff in bazaar that is better than all the raid gear we won up thru SOD. each piece usually for 10k plat or less. Just can't use many augs. I am doing some research and finding some non-prestige augs. I am up to about 6 that give HP of 30 or so plus other stats or better. Its crap compared to good augs - but its better than empty. Found an easy AUG in Sunderock last night that is like 40 or 50 HP/M/END - IIRC.

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:32 am
by Danedil
I am going to get a new computer before I reactivate my account. I think i am going to stick with a pc but if a laptop would work well I would consider it. Any input on storage, graphic card and all that good stuff would be appreciated. I want to get something decent and not have to upgrade it to soon. Thanks

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:32 am
by Goofydoofy
Pretty much any computer you buy nowadays will work fine with Everquest. Of course, if you get a desktop with high end stuff, it will run faster, but anything these days will run the game with little or no problem.

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:21 pm
by Ceruis
Desktop > Laptop. EQ will burnout your graphic card on a laptop if it is not well ventilated and 9 out of 10 of them are not just because of placement. For instance Dell has a nasty habit of putting the damn thing on top of the motherboard under the keyboard.

Re: Getting back into EQ

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:18 pm
by Goofydoofy
That's what warranties are for.